Friday, 31 October 2014

Who Won the Prizes?

The Quiz Results 
The Facebook LOOKING FOR A REASON launch day event was lots of fun and gave me a great opportunity to interact with some of my readers. I held two prize-winning quizzes on the day, both of which attracted scores of entries.

Here are the results and answers to the questions.

The winner of the grand prize - seven crime novels from seven best-selling authors - was Amanda Farrow-Wise, whose answers were:

1: The front of the Criminal Courts.
2: Gallows Heath.
3: The Horse and Panniers.

The winner of the Ted Bundy quiz was Tracey Walsh, who won a £10 Amazon voucher. The answers Tracey gave were:

Full name: Theodore Robert Bundy
Last words: "Jim and Fred, I'd like you to give my love to my family and friends,"
Date of execution: 24 January 1989
Place of execution: Florida State Prison, Bradford County, Florida
Religion: Mormon
Writer: Elizabeth Kendall
Married: Carole Ann Boone


Paperback News
LOOKING FOR A REASON is already available on Amazon and there will be a live launch held over two days at The Bookshop in Sabinillas, Spain. From 10:00 to 14:00 on Friday 21st and Saturday 22nd November I'll be on hand to sign copies, and chat about crime, books and writing. If you're in the area on either day, why not come along and enjoy a glass of wine or soft drink? I'd love to see you there.

If you are not able to get to the Costa del Sol next month, the paperback of LOOKING FOR A REASON is already available on Amazon worldwide, clicking here should take you to the Amazon store in your country.

The First Review
LOOKING FOR A REASON received its first review and it's a five-star cracker! You can read it here.

If you've read any of the D.I. Paolo Storey novels, please take a few moments to leave a review. It's always wonderful to hear what readers think of the series - good and bad.

Frances


Thursday, 30 October 2014

It's Off to Kill I Go



To help celebrate the launch of Looking for a Reason, a number of my writing friends have asked me to visit and chat about writing and other matters. The ever-lovely Jane Bwye hosted a post from me this week on the pros and cons of writing a series. I tried to be serious, honest I did, but a touch of humour inevitably crept in.

To find out what I had to say, you can read my post on Jane’s blog: I’m a Serial Killer



Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Launch day and party



It’s here at last – the official launch day of the fourth in the D.I. Paolo Storey series.

There is a party going on over on Facebook between the hours of 10:00 and 16:00 (UK time) where there will be quizzes to test your crime detecting skills, manic music and a few party games.



Looking for a Reason, the latest in the D.I. Paolo Storey series provides Paolo’s biggest challenge so far.

Someone is subjecting men to systematic rape and torture, but who? More to the point – why? After three days of cruelty, starvation and water deprivation, they are released.

Detective Inspector Paolo Storey has many questions, but the biggest one of all is this: why, to a man, do they refuse even to admit they were held captive?

As if the hunt for the elusive abductor wasn’t enough, Paolo has to spend time finding out if money has been pilfered from public funds poured into a new youth centre. He upsets a few local bigwigs in the process, but ruffling feathers is the least of his worries.

His most important task is to work out why the attacks take place. If he can do that, he'll be a step closer to knowing who is behind them; but can he uncover the answers in time to save someone close to him?

It isn’t easy Looking for a Reason.



Friday, 24 October 2014

Grilled by @SimonDuringer #interview

Anyone who has faced a set of Simon Duringer's fiendish interview questions will sympathise with me. For everyone else, they make for an entertaining way of passing a few minutes watching the interviewee squirm just a little.

In all seriousness, I thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the latest 10Q interview challenge. Thank you, Simon, for inviting me.

To read the interview in full, click here.


Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Red Ribbons by @LouiseMPhillips #reviewshare



Red Ribbons, the debut novel of Louise Phillips, is the first in a series featuring Dr Kate Pearson, a criminal psychologist brought in to assist police with the profile of a child killer. The policeman heading up the investigation, the prickly but endearing O’Connor, comes to rely on Kate’s insights into the killer’s motives more and more as the investigation wears on and a second body is discovered.

The red ribbons of the title are the link tying two historic crimes with the present day murders. The fact that the killer is known to us almost from the outset adds to the tension, rather than diluting it. Add into the mix Ellie Brady, a psychiatric patient locked away for murdering her daughter, and yet another layer is interwoven into the main plot. It’s hard to say too much more without giving away details that will spoil the read, but suffice to say this is an intelligently written thriller with an intriguing and multi-layered storyline.

I enjoyed this novel so much I started the sequel, The Doll’s House, almost immediately on reaching the end.



Monday, 20 October 2014

Interviewed by the weird and wacky @seumasgallacher #interview



The seriously mad Seumas Gallacher sent over a set of interview questions which really taxed my brain. Great fun to answer and (I hope) enjoyable for you to read.

To give you a flavour of the Q&A, here is a sample of the interview:
  1. Your novels are gripping and psychological in certain aspects. On a scale of 1 (low) to 10, how unhinged are you? Reasons for your answer?
I would say I’m about a 15 or thereabouts. I always tell my husband as long as I’m writing crime he doesn’t need to worry, but the moment I hang up my keyboard he should run and never look back.




Monday, 13 October 2014

Grand Prize to celebrate book launch #crimewriters #giveaway



For the launch of Looking for a Reason, number four in the D.I. Paolo Storey series, I have a fabulous prize on offer. The competition is free to enter and doesn’t require a purchase of any kind.

Would you like a bumper pack of fabulous crime fiction from some of today’s top authors? One lucky winner will receive all the novels mentioned below absolutely free.

In surname alphabetical order:

Rachel Abbott has donated an e-copy of Only the Innocent
Debbie Bennett has donated an e-copy of Hamelin's Child
Sheila Bugler has donated an e-copy of Hunting Shadows
JJ Marsh has donated an e-copy of Behind Closed Doors
Louise Phillips has donated a paperback copy of Red Ribbons
Mel Sherrat has donated an e-copy of Somewhere to Hide
Oliver Tidy has donated an e-copy of Dirty Business

So, how do you win the above goodies? Simple, you just have to answer the three questions below (you can find the answers by reading the free sample of Bad Moon Rising on Amazon, Smashwords and other online outlets).

Question 1: Where is Paolo standing when he first appears at the beginning of Bad Moon Rising?

Question 2: What is the green barrier between the haves and have-nots of Bradchester called?

Question 3: What is the name of the pub where Barbara Royston meets her friend Leanna?

As you can see, the prize is well worth the effort. Send your answers between now and midnight on 28th October 2014 to: frances@francesdiplino.com

Every email containing three correct answers will go into a draw and one lucky winner will be chosen out of the hat to receive the books mentioned above.