D.I. Paolo Storey Novels


Looking for a Reason, number four in the Detective Inspector Paolo Storey series, gives Paolo even more headaches than usual. Someone is abducting men and subjecting them to three days of rape and torture, but who? More to the point – why? After three days of cruelty, starvation and being deprived of water, they are released.

Paolo has lots of questions. Why three days? Why that particular form of torture? Why deprive them of water? Why let them go?

The biggest question of all: Why will none of them talk about their time in captivity or give any information which would help the police to find the perpetrator? The victims, to a man, refuse even to admit they were held captive.


~~~
 
Call it Pretending, the third in the Detective Inspector Paolo Storey series, brings readers up to date on Paolo's personal issues while he battles with his latest case.

A series of murders with nothing to connect the victims except the manner of death and a note left at each crime scene.

Detective Inspector Paolo Storey has just six weeks to find the killer. Without clues or even a hint of motive, he feels as if he’s tracking a ghost.

But the murderer isn’t a ghost. He’s a man determined to avenge a wrong from many years earlier. To get close to his prey, he assumes various identities and calls it pretending.

Can Paolo win in his race against the pretender?

Praise for Call it Pretending

“Delve into the dark side... Well-constructed with an unflinching plot. Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.”
Ruth Dugdall - Winner of a CWA Debut Dagger Award

“di Plino's assured and fluid writing style truly brings characters and scenes to life on the page. Her dark psychological thrillers will have you gripped from page one.”
Rachel Abbott - No. 1 Bestselling Author of Only the Innocent and The Back Road   

~~~


The second in the Detective Inspector Paolo Storey series, Someday Never Comes.

Paolo is determined to shut down the syndicate flooding Bradchester’s streets with young prostitutes.

When a child is murdered, Paolo becomes aware of a sinister network of abusers spread across Europe, and spanning all levels of society. But Joey, the shadowy leader of the gang, always seems to be one step ahead in the chase.

Has Detective Inspector Paolo Storey come up against a criminal he cannot defeat?

Praise for Someday Never Comes 

"A taut, tense thriller, this novel is a masterclass in plotting and character development. Paolo Storey is a wonderful creation: human, flawed and vulnerable. Fans of Tania Carver and Karin Slaughter will adore di Plino's clever, original crime series."
Sheila Bugler, author Hunting Shadows

"Dark and uncomfortably believable, Frances di Plino's gritty thriller set in the underworld of organised crime cranks the tension all the way up to eleven. Don't read this on the train - you'll miss your stop."
JJ Marsh, author of The Beatrice Stubbs series

~~~


 
Bad Moon Rising is a dark psychological thriller.

Brought up believing sex is the devil’s work, a killer only finds release once he has saved his victims’ souls. Abiding by his vision, he marks them as his. A gift to guide his chosen ones on the rightful path to redemption.

Detective Inspector Paolo Storey is out to stop him, but Paolo has problems of his own. Hunting down the killer as the death toll rises, the lines soon blur between Paolo’s personal and professional lives.



Praise for Bad Moon Rising

http://www.e-thriller.com/?page_id=652"I loved this tense, fast-paced and gripping novel. A brilliant debut."
Amanda Hodgkinson — New York Times Bestselling author of 22 Britannia Road 

“Di Plino has created a complex, very human detective in Inspector Paolo Storey, and as the curtain falls on his first case, his audience is left hoping it won’t be the last.”
Jo Reed — Author of the Blood Dancer series of novels

“... it reminded me of the best of Cracker and Prime Suspect stuffed together to make a truly thrilling novel.”

“This tight thriller takes many twists and turns ...”